Blackened Skull

There is no gene for the human spirit

We built our own world

with 4 comments

My continued studying relies heavily on excellent soundtracks that I listen to (with headphones of course) to keep my mind focused on the task at hand. Music without lyrics helps to motivate me but it’s also a form of meditation that keeps unwanted thoughts and distractions at bay.

I prefer my soundtracks to have a life of their own rather than just be incidental to the movie. Both The Social Network OST and Inception are their own creation and don’t need the movie to fully enjoy the experience. Probably my favourite from the last few years has been Hans Zimmer’s Inception OST.  The way it builds, climbs and simmers is just wonderful to hear and I never bore of hearing it.

So October will see my nose back in the study books and I’m anxious to pick up a few new OSTs that can aid me through the next six months. I’ll possibly pick up the Prometheus OST very soon but I need a few more, any suggestions?

Written by David Osbon

September 5, 2012 at 8:40 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Clint Mansell’s Moon soundtrack is haunting, yet captivating. Try that!

    superdrunkritual

    September 6, 2012 at 3:50 pm

    • Man! I’ve got that soundtrack somewhere. Have you seen Monsters? The soundtrack to that is fairly similar in composition. Good film too.

      DM Osbon

      September 6, 2012 at 9:47 pm

  2. I got Monsters yes! Made by a Welsh lad, so I’m pretty biased towards it! Minimalist scores are really easy and great to listen to though. Nice to have on in background while we sweat the blogs out.

    superdrunkritual

    September 10, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    • Haven’t tried listening to my choice of soundtracks while I blog. Think I’ll give that a try. Any suggestions for good game soundtracks?

      DM Osbon

      September 10, 2012 at 4:56 pm


Leave a Reply

