Blackened Skull

There is no gene for the human spirit

Olivia Dunham makes it hard to care

with 11 comments

I maybe way behind the crowd but I am now at the halfway point in the first season of Fringe. It’s been tough going but I hear that the later seasons do get better? My main concern is the central character, Olivia Dunham. Anna Torv does portray her well but after 10 episodes I just not feeling any connection to her. She is very dead-pan in her approach which could be deliberate placed as a character trait. Maybe those early traumas Olivia had to go through at the start of show have taken the warmth from her soul. It would also explain the cold-shoulder she excels at since those early episodes.

Those of you who have watched way more Fringe than I, tell me what do you think of Olivia and her portrayal by Anna Torv? I need a connection to the main character to any movie or TV drama but will she remain an ice-queen or will she warm me up on the cold autumn nights ahead?

Written by David Osbon

October 5, 2012 at 10:00 am

Posted in TV

Tagged with , , ,

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’ll warm up to her.
    She’s a complicated character, but you’ll discover that she’s pretty awesome.
    You should get going, the last season is showing now and you wouldn’t want spoilers to ruin the show down the track.

    misspiggielovestoeat

    October 5, 2012 at 10:48 am

    • Complicated yes but I’m hoping for a few glimpses of kinks in that armour before I reach the end of the first season. Thanks for the comment 😉

      DM Osbon

      October 5, 2012 at 3:54 pm

  2. Yeah, I’m with misspiggielovestoeat above; she’s definitely a complicated character that you warm up to over time.

    Breki Tomasson

    October 5, 2012 at 12:46 pm

    • Hey Breki. Thanks for the comment. You are into season 5 now aren’t you?

      DM Osbon

      October 5, 2012 at 3:59 pm

  3. She is definitely supposed to be emotionally closed off in the beginning. However you’ll soon learn why she’s like that and there will be some major revelations about her character which might make you think differently.

    She won’t remain an ice-queen, that’s for sure. Personally I’ve always found her relatable. This is a character which requires subtlety which I think Anna Torv does really well.

    Harry

    October 5, 2012 at 2:50 pm

  4. P.S any doubts you have about her portrayal will be long gone if you make it to season 3. She did some mind-blowing work there.

    Harry

    October 5, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    • Thanks Harry. I agree Anna Torv is doing a great job with the character. Maybe it’s a slow burn for me. I read somewhere that JJ Abrams suggests that season 1 was there to show us what and who the enemy was, so could the characterisation of Olivia been muted to build up in the latter seasons?

      DM Osbon

      October 5, 2012 at 3:58 pm

  5. The first season is pretty patchy until it gets towards the end. My husband stopped watching the show because of the first 5 eps and then only started again in season 3 when he caught the premiere ep by accident and realised it was a lot more convoluted than he’d thought. I also didn’t much like Anna until the show progressed, so really would echo everyone else – give it more time.

    Arbitrary

    October 5, 2012 at 6:43 pm

    • I seem to be in good company with my assessment of Olivia based on what I have seen anyway. Did your husband go back and watch what he had missed?

      DM Osbon

      October 5, 2012 at 8:13 pm

      • Nope, as you’ll see, the third series is kind of a decent place to start if you have any sci-fi sensibilities. Personally, I’d start with series 2, or maybe the last 5-6 eps of s1, I really didn’t like the start of the show and all the John Scott stuff (think that was his name). I wanted Marcus to go back and watch all of series 2, but he never found the time for it.

        Arbitrary

        October 7, 2012 at 2:10 pm

  6. […] trend that I did post about before looks to be reproduced in Homeland and with the most recent US TV drama(excluding The Walking […]


Leave a Reply

