Blackened Skull

There is no gene for the human spirit

Bitten

with one comment

(If you want to read the previous posts I’ve made on my play-through of The Walking Dead you can find them here: Brain Scramble(Episode 1), Moral Compass(Episode 2), Gambit(Episode 3) and discover why it’s my GotY).

And there I was thinking things for Lee couldn’t get any worse…

The Walking Dead comic book and subsequent TV series are set in an unforgiving Universe. Brutal deeds done in the name of survival and to see the sun rise on another day of hell on earth. Fun this is not but fascinating as a character study in a pot-boiler of a setting. Thankfully Telltale Games know how to spin these elements into a successful adventure game experience that is everything the comic book and TV series is. The added bonus is YOU get to feel the tension and live with the consequences of decisions made. Telltale Games have done what other media couldn’t. They made it personal.

Never before have I argued out-loud with the events playing out in a videogame but this happened to me in Episode 4: Around Every Corner. Assumption is a key ingredient to the characters lives within The Walking Dead and one such moment of assumption without proof by Vernon made me hit the roof. Man, I was involved. I wanted to swing a wild punch at Vernon’s head. Wanted to burn his accusations back across his eyelids. I got upset and let it get the better of me; I chose to spurn his poorly conceived offer and if I could I’d have swapped his place for the fallen Ben. Never has that intensity of feeling happened to me before in reaction to a videogame experience.

With just one episode to go before this ‘season’ closes out, I fear for Lee and Clementine. There’s no way to disguise the feeling of impeding doom. I’m certain theirs will not be a happy ending. I’m also certain that this experience will live long in my memory as the best forward step by a development team to infuse a sense of belief into an industry stifled with mediocrity.

Written by David Osbon

October 18, 2012 at 12:35 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] is much I have already said about The Walking Dead so I’ll keep from re-treading over old ground here. As I stated earlier in […]


Leave a Reply

