Blackened Skull

There is no gene for the human spirit

Brief thoughts on the first season of Homeland

leave a comment »

Homeland is the first American TV drama my wife has watched with me probably since LOST. The first night we watched the first four episodes and we are now up to date with season two – 16 episodes in. But although its great TV my original concern is still at the forefront of my mind. By announcing a third season I fear my concerns may have just been compounded. Homeland really is a 2-3 season show at best based on the original premise. Introducing another story arc now would feel like dilution but by only having 12 episodes a season helps to keep things fresh.

Another trend that I did post about before looks to be reproduced in Homeland and with the most recent US TV drama(excluding The Walking Dead). I’m not ‘feeling’ the characters like I use to. Is this me getting older and possibly wiser…unlikely…or am I that much out of touch? I am only just connecting with Saul in Homeland while I feel nothing for the rest of the cast. Carrie irritates me more than anything else and I have seen nothing in her character that allows me any sympathy. All rather odd really.

Written by David Osbon

October 29, 2012 at 8:09 am

Posted in TV

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

