Blackened Skull

There is no gene for the human spirit

Low chaos thoughts on Dishonored

with 4 comments

For a game that I nearly passed on, Dishonored has given me a good innings. It runs a close second to the game I consider the best of this year so far. If I had felt a little more attachment to the game-world and Corvo – I hate mute lead characters – then it would have been on par.

Saying that 2012 has been a patchy gaming year for me. Dishonored is the first full game I’ve completed since Mass Effect 2 back in March. So that says something for how well the game was developed. Other than the ‘Blink’ ability that has Corvo manoeuvre the world like a cat after catnip, the other standout feature was the way NPCs would be dynamic to how you approached them. I found the dialogue of those one-sided conversations excellent but would have been far more enriching if Corvo had a speaking role.

Low Chaos then. It did seem the obvious choice really. That’s not to say I ran away or hid from every situation. I found Low Chaos more in keeping with the way I like to play but when things did go wrong I rolled with it. If you employ that type of play-through yourself just make sure you remember to save your game and save it often!

Next up is AC3…

Written by David Osbon

October 30, 2012 at 9:49 pm

Posted in Videogames

Tagged with , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I tried, I really did, but I struggled to enjoy this. A shame, because I really got into the trailers for it and some gameplay footage shown. I’ll gladly take AC3 over this.

    superdrunkritual

    October 30, 2012 at 11:27 pm

    • Honestly I didn’t think the game would grab my attention and I nearly let it slip on one occasion. Are you going to trade it in for AC3?

      DM Osbon

      October 31, 2012 at 8:45 am

  2. I got Dishonored through Lovefilm. Looking to see if I can get AC3 this weekend. Launching a game on Halloween, I ask you!

    superdrunkritual

    October 31, 2012 at 9:32 am

    • My bro wants to play Dishonored so I’ll lend it to him but I tend to keep the ones I finish and trade in the ones I don’t. Did you finish AC Revelations?

      DM Osbon

      October 31, 2012 at 9:40 am


Leave a Reply

