Blackened Skull

There is no gene for the human spirit

Birthday time-travel

with 2 comments

If I could time-travel but I couldn’t influence the past then I’d like to revisit all my previous birthdays, in chronological order. Many birthdays I can no longer remember while others are just shadow memories.

I’d love to see my reaction to each birthday and how that has changed over the decades. Years 1-18 would be fascinating to watch.

Reaching 42 and in the process answering the meaning of life I appreciate the gifts I get now much more than I did as a child. But then as an adult, receiving presents is naturally a far less forthcoming activity. This years haul has been rather excellent:

Books; A Street Cat Named Bob by James Bowen and Champions League Dreams by Rafa Benitez. As you will know doubt know – unless you are a very new reader – my completion rate for books is very poor. I was surprised to receive two books when the best I can do recently is complete a graphic novel or two.

Videogames; Sleeping Dogs on 360 format. The only game that I had on my list.

Music; Prometheus OST. I’m a lapsed Muse fan and have yet to get over their appearance at this years Olympics, so no 2nd Law for me just now.

Movies; Avengers Assemble. Here in the UK we have been short-changed with a weak Blu-ray/DVD release; very few extras and no audio commentary. Happy enough to be able to watch this for a second time, mind.

Not to shabby, eh?

While on the subject of time-travel, I had hoped to round-off my birthday celebrations with a viewing of Looper – hasn’t happened yet. The last time-travel movie that Bruce Willis excelled in was Twelve Monkeys back in 1995. Which do you consider to be your favourite of the two movies?

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really want to see Looper too, couldn’t do it this week cos of my crazy commitments – but think I can fit it in after some training next week. I hear it’s great.

    Arbitrary

    October 3, 2012 at 3:29 am

    • I saw Emily Blunt on the Woss show and she said the trailers don’t do the film justice but was deliberate to not spoil the storyline. I’m expecting good things.

      DM Osbon

      October 3, 2012 at 11:13 am


Leave a comment